Introducing the rebuild of this site

WordPress has served me well for a good few years now, but I decided last year that it’s time for an overhaul of my site to use more modern web development practices and for me to have much more control over it. I also wanted much more emphasis on the projects I’ve done, rather than have them buried as a small link on a subsection of the site.

This led me to create this site – a Hugo powered static site with a couple extra server side scripts to manage Netlify style continuous integration and GitHub auth for the Netlify CMS used for content management. It also utilises the InstantClick JS library for Gatsby like SPA navigation and page preloading in a couple KBs of JavaScript

The site is fully open source, and available to download at https://github.com/rymate1234/rymate.co.uk.